New Teacher/Mentor Google Hangout

As the new school year begins to approach, I am getting more and more excited. I’ve been putting a lot of thought into what I deem necessary to have ready for the first of the school year and what can wait. I was TERRIBLE at this my first year. Absolutely terrible. What I thought was necessary was definitely not, so I spent a grandiose amount of time on extraneous things that had little effect on the classroom.

Many schools have New Teacher/Mentor programs, and many more schools do not. I was lucky. During my first full year of teacher, I was surrounded by wonderful teachers eager to help me with any questions I had. AND the school I worked at had a program for new teachers. I had double the support. The school year was still tough, but not nearly as bad as it could have been.

New Teacher Mentor hangout.001.jpg.001

I understand a lot of schools do not have this, so I would like to offer a place for new teachers to receive support from fellow mentor teachers on-line. The idea is to host the discussions once a month, the first session being in July. Each month, we would discuss a different topic ranging from parent communications to classroom management to balancing work and home life.

The first session will take place on the evening of July 6. The focus will be all about the first couple weeks of school. I’d like to provide a place for new teachers to voice their concern and receive encouraging feedback with useful advice. I’d also like to discuss what the mentors deem necessary to have prepare before day one and what can wait for later in the school year. If you are interested in participating in this discussion, join the google community, “Google Hangouts for Teachers“, since the discussions will be hosted through that community.

google hangout image.001

Leave a Reply

