Finding Balance Between Back to School, UGA, Book Club, and FAMILY!

I have been a little MIA lately, so I thought I’d share what has been going on, now that I have a quiet moment to drink coffee and type. If any of you have followed me on-line, or are familiar with my on-line life, I have been enjoying reading with the Educator’s Book Club and co-managing the Unshakeable Summer Book Study with Angela Watson. During this book study, I promised myself that I would find balance this upcoming school year. What I didn’t mention in the book club is why I am so focused on this.

This school year, I am starting a new grade level (2nd!) that I haven’t taught since before the release of Common Core, I am beginning graduate school, and I am continuing the book studies with the Educator’s Book Club. There is a possibility that there may be other projects on the horizon, and I’ll welcome those if and when they come.

Needless to say, these are all exciting challenges, and each one takes a great deal of time to handle. Meanwhile, I have an almost 2 year old daughter and a husband I refuse to neglect, or, even, make to feel neglected. I am very grateful to have a supportive husband who is picking up any slack I am leaving around the house and encourages me to go after all of my dreams. He cooks dinners many nights, and even brings me dinner while I am “in-class” (on-line). He cleans our home, and he does the dishes. If I can’t make it to the grocery store, he swings by on the way home from work. We try to balance our responsibilities, but he hasn’t complained at all if I can’t hold up my end for a day (or week…) I can’t thank him enough for his support.

Daddy Daughter

That being said, here is a glimpse of my schedule. One thing I learned this summer from Unshakeable: 20 Ways to Enjoy Teaching No Matter What by Angela Watson, is that I need to schedule in me-time or family-time. This time is just as important as anything else in my life, and, definitely, more so!

Monday-Friday: Teach extended day 2nd grade 7:45-4:15And all of the teachers reading this know that 4:15 is a dream number. We always leave at-least 30 minutes after that, once dismissal duties are done and you say your greetings on the way back to your classroom to grab your things, prepare for the next day, and clock out.

Tuesday-Wednesday: On-Line Class 6-7:45
I’m loving these classes! But I hate the limited time I have with my daughter. But this phase in our life will be brief, and this is only two days out of the week. 🙂

Every Night for at-least one hour: Read for graduate school, update the book club, lesson plan for coming weeks, homework/projects. But, let’s be honest. Some nights, I just fall asleep and play catch-up on the weekends.

Monday, Thursday, Friday: 2 hours of family time after school. NO INTERRUPTIONS! We try to go on a walk and go to the park on these days.

Saturday-Sunday: Mommy-Daughter time. Or we visit the grandparents and I bring some work with me. Or we have a playdate with coworkers while we plan.

Once or twice a Month: Update Teachers-Pay-Teachers with new products.

Did I mention that my husband is awesome and picks our daughter up from daycare everyday? I drop her off, and this allows me to tie any lose ends before I leave at the end of the day.

A little over a year ago, I started the Educator’s Book Club as a means to stay connected to the world of education while I worked part-time and stayed home with my daughter. One year later, I realized what field I wanted to venture into for my M.Ed. Learning Design and Technology, Instructional Design and Development (IDD). I love connecting with educators around the world and learning from them! I’ve learned more than I could have imagined and discovered such an inviting and helpful group of teachers. One day, I look forward to meeting some of these “friends” and putting faces to the names. I found that the University of Georgia had this LD&T, IDD program AND that it is 100% on-line, so I jumped on it! I got accepted, and now I am a first year IDD student at UGA. I can’t put into words how excited I am, but I can tell you that thinking about it makes me feel like I’ve had 5 espressos. (I get really excited!)

We are into week 3 of the current semester and my mind is reeling at the thoughts of what kind of projects I intend to work on this semester. I have several ideas swirling around in my mind, and once I settle on which ones to do, I will share them with you all. I know that my students will be excited to hear what is in store for them, because I am trying to include them in the projects as much as possible.

(As a side note, if you plan math for your grade level, you should check out Engage New York’s curriculum. It is free. It is on-line. It is rigorous. And it is awesome! Work smarter, not harder!)

Life is getting busy and exciting, all at once, and I’m ready for it

There is so much more I wish I could write, but I hear my daughter stirring and our day is about to begin. Have a wonderful weekend everyone!

Frankie ❤

Leave a Reply

